A landlord has many responsibilities, and staying on top of a variety of required notices is part of the necessary detail work of being a landlord. Failure to supply a required notice within the legally established time frame could cost you as a landlord, so make sure to review all of the notice requirements.
Notices to quit
When the end of the agreement term is approaching the tenant will be deciding what they will do next. In most states there is a stated period of time before the lease ends where the tenant has to provide written notice to quit the agreement. However, in Massachusetts if the lease has a fixed term there is no notice period required by the tenant, the lease just ends. For month to month leases there is a notice period of 30 days or the same amount of time as periodic rent is due, whichever is longer.
Notice for failure to pay rent
Under a written lease, when a tenant refuses or is negligent in paying rent the landlord must provide 14 days written notice to quit. The tenant then has the 14 day period to remedy the unpaid rent or be expected to vacate the premises and surrender possession.
Notices prior to making entry
During the course of a tenancy the landlord will need to enter the unit for repairs, maintenance, or an emergency. When the entry is due to an emergency no notice period is required. But when the entry is for inspection, scheduled maintenance, repairs, or due to a request of the tenant, it’s recommended that the landlord provide at least 24 hours notice of the entry as a courtesy. Massachusetts does not have a statute specifying the notice period for entry for showings, maintenance and repairs, or inspections. Of course, during an extended absence where the landlord has been informed of the absence by the tenant, the landlord may enter the unit without notice as necessary for inspection, showings, maintenance, or repairs.