New Jersey requires landlords to include various important disclosures in residential lease agreements. These disclosures are intended to inform and protect the tenant, so make sure they are in your New Jersey lease agreement.
Child protection window guards
In an effort to protect children from window falls, N.J.A.C. 5:10–27.1 requires landlords of multifamily properties with three or more units to provide, install and maintain window guards in the apartment if a child or children 10 years of age or younger is, or will be, living in the apartment or is, or will be, regularly present there for a substantial period of time if the tenant gives the owner/landlord a written request that the window guards be installed. The owner/landlord is also required, upon the written request of the tenant, to provide, install and maintain window guards in the hallways to which persons in the tenant’s unit have access without having to go out of the building. In addition, if the building is a condominium, cooperative or mutual housing building, the owner/landlord of the apartment is responsible for installing and maintaining window guards in the apartment and the association is responsible for installing and maintaining window guards in hallway windows. Window guards in first floor windows are only required to be provided if the window sill is more than six feet above grade or there are other hazardous conditions that make installation of window guards necessary to protect the safety of children. The owner/landlord is allowed to charge the tenant $20.00 for each window guard installed.
Flood zone notification
Per N.J.S.A. 46:8-50, the landlord must notify the tenant if the premises has been determined to be located in a flood zone or area. If such determination is known by the landlord prior to the beginning of occupancy the landlord must notify the tenant prior to the time of occupancy. Typically this is written in the lease agreement.
Identity of landlord
Landlords who own a one- or two-family, non-owner occupied house are required by law to file a registration statement with the clerk of the municipality in which the building is located. If the building has three or more units, the statement must be filed with the Bureau of Housing Inspection. The registration statement must be given to the tenant and posted in a place in the building where it can be easily seen.
Truth in Renting statement
All landlords in New Jersey must distribute one copy of the Truth In Renting statement to their tenants at or prior to the time occupancy is assumed. The Truth in Renting statement is a guide to the rights and responsibilities of tenants and landlords in New Jersey. In addition to providing a copy of the statement to tenants at the time of occupancy, the landlord must keep a copy of the current statement posted in one or more locations so that the statement is prominent and accessible to all tenants. Visit the Truth In Renting statement On New Jersey's website.