When you’re a landlord you can’t just “rent it and forget it”. Once you find that perfect tenant there are still many responsibilities for a landlord, and staying on top of a variety of required notices is part of the necessary detail work of being a landlord. Failure to supply a required notice within the legally established time frame could cost you as a landlord, so make sure to review all of the notice requirements. Below are the top three notices and their requirements in Utah.
Notice of rent change
Of course you cannot change the rent amount during the agreement term, but Utah law stipulates that a landlord may change the rental amount (or other agreement terms) for a tenancy subsequent to the agreement term by giving written notice to the tenant at least 15 days prior to the end of the agreement term.
Notice of entry
During the course of a tenancy the landlord will need to enter the unit for repairs, maintenance, or an emergency. When the entry is due to an emergency no notice period is required. But when the entry is for inspection, scheduled maintenance, repairs, or due to a request of the tenant, the landlord must give at least 24 hours notice of the entry. During an extended absence where the landlord has been informed of the absence by the tenant, the landlord may enter the unit without notice as necessary for inspection, maintenance, or repairs.