In the unfortunate case that a tenant is a victim of domestic or sexual violence, the tenant has the right to early termination of the lease agreement. The Wyoming Safe Homes Act, Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1303, outlines these rights and procedures for early termination. And to be sure, a landlord cannot legally refuse to rent to someone with a legitimate domestic or sexual violence status.
Early termination of lease
The tenant has the right to early termination of the lease agreement if they or a member of their household are the victim of domestic or sexual violence, as long as the incident of domestic violence occurred within the previous 60 days. The tenant must provide the landlord with a 7-days written notice informing the landlord of early termination and the reason for such early termination. The written notice must state the reason for the early termination, the date of the violence, and pertinent medical, court or police evidence of the domestic abuse or sexual violence. The tenant is not liable for rent after they vacate the premises. Please refer to the Wyoming Safe Homes Act for a full reading of the law.