Important Texas Landlord-Tenant Laws
Property Ownership Disclosure in Texas
Tenants have the right to know the names of property owners and property managers and their addresses. If tenant requests this information, it cannot take longer than seven days to provide. LeaseRunner automatically includes this information in the Texas Residential Lease.
Landlord’s Right to Enter the Rental in Texas
If the reason for entry is an emergency, the landlord does not have to give any notice to the tenants occupying the rental property. If the reason is a non-emergency, Texas law does not specify the time period given before entering the property. However, 24 hour courtesy notice seems to be the rule of thumb.
Lien for Unpaid Rent and Abandoned Personal Property in Texas
Landlords can place a lien on tenant’s personal property if the tenant fails to pay rent. Some property is exempt, however. Things like one vehicle, one truck, work tools, medical supplies and medicine cannot be touched. If personal property in Texas is abandoned at the premisses, the landlord is allowed to dispose of that property without any liability.
Repair and deduct in Texas
If your renter makes repairs to the rental property, it should be only in emergency cases like overflow of sewage, flooding from broken pipes or drainage, or inadequately heated or cooled air. The deductions for these expenses from rent should not exceed $500 or one month’s rent, whichever is greater.
Safety requirements in Texas rentals
Other than safety locks on doors and windows, smoke alarms must be installed and in working condition in every bedroom and at least one on every level. If your local ordinances require the landlord to supply a fire extinguisher in your unit, the landlord must inspect the fire extinguisher prior to the tenant move-in. The inspection means checking correct pressure as recommended by the manufacturer of the fire extinguisher.
Texas security deposit
There is no limit of the amount a landlord can ask for a security deposit and landlords are not obligated to hold the security deposit in a separate or escrow account. Returning the security deposit, the landlord must provide a written statement of damages beyond ordinary wear and tear for the amount deducted. This must be returned within 30 days from the tenant vacating the property.
Late fees in Texas rentals
Typically, rent is due on the 1st of the month with five days of grace period. After that, rent is late. There is no limit how much a landlord can charge for a late fee. The fee can be accrued daily or in one fee.